A Twist of Fate – Secrets

On the day of its release, I’m going to take a look at the theme of secrets in A Twist of Fate.

A Twist of FateBut I’m not going to look too closely, as that would be spoiling things! Suffice to say, are Callie’s anxieties over her relationship with Paul justified? Paul seems to have secrets which he is keen to keep buried. What are they and how will Callie react? The trouble is … is she already in too deep?

Here, in my final teaser, Callie has questions for Paul and he’s about to reveal more than she bargained for.

He moved to stand up but stopped and just stayed sitting on the side of the bed with his back to me, his muscles shifting as he moved, rubbing his hands together in that way he did when he was anxious.

I put a hand on his shoulder and he didn’t immediately move away, but he leaned forward so that it became harder for me to do so without it feeling awkward. I removed my hand and asked in a voice which sounded self-consciously caring, ‘Can you tell me about it?’

‘Can do. Not sure I want to though.’

‘OK. I understand.’

He looked over his shoulder at me, his expression set. ‘I don’t want you to understand, Callie. I don’t want you to know. It’s not something you want to know, believe me.’

‘But it’s you. Perhaps I need to know.’

He leaned ever further down and his muscles strained tight. My heart was beating so hard I could hear it throbbing through my head.

Paul held his head in his hands and shook it. ‘Ah, Jesus. What more do you want, Callie? Am I never fucking going to be enough as I am?’

Panic started to take hold. I’d gone too far. I backtracked quickly. ‘All right, I’m sorry. Forget it. It doesn’t matter.’

‘It does though, don’t it?’

‘No. Look, Paul, I’m really sorry. I didn’t mean to mention it, it just slipped out.’ I started to get up and reached for a top, slipping it on, then pulling my knickers up.

‘Where are you going?’ he asked.

‘Nowhere. Just … a glass of water.’

‘No, stay there. If you really want to know, you should know.’

‘Seriously, please …’

‘No. Stay there and listen.’

A Twist of Fate is released in e-book format today and in paperback on 18th June.

Amazon UK

Amazon US

A Twist of Fate – Secrets

Leave a Reply

